Below, you can find the latest laws concerning drunk driving in Maryland. The penalties are steep,and they are getting steeper. With the death of Montgomery County Police Officer Noah Leotta by a drunk driver earlier this year, Maryland has taken action. If you are arrested for drunk driving, call an attorney right away.
Maryland Drunk Driving Laws, Penalties, Fines | DrivingLaws.org
What are the penalties for a DUI/DWI in Maryland?
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail||Up to 1 year (DUI); up to 2 months (DWI)||Up to 2 years (DUI); up to 1 year (DWI)||Up to 3 years|
|Fines and Penalties||Up to $1,000 (DUI); up to $500 (DWI)||Up to $2,000 (DUI); up to $500 (DWI)||Up to $3,000|
|License Suspension||Min 6 months (DUI & DWI)||1 year (DUI & DWI)||18 months min.|
Lookback Period: 5 years (Period of time that prior DUIs are relevant for sentencing.)
How much do you have to drink (BAC*) for a DUI/DWI in Maryland?
|21 or older||.08% or higher (DUI) Between .04% and .08% (DWI)|
** BAC = blood alcohol content
How many drinks does it take? Check the BAC chart.
You may want to try our BAC Calculator, however I wouldn’t let any results encourage you to drink and drive.
What if you refuse to take a chemical test in Maryland?
Maryland has an implied consent law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. Learn more about Maryland’s implied consent law.
|1st Offense||2d Offense||3rd Offense|
|Refusal to take test||120 day license suspension||1 year license suspension||1 year license suspension|